Poetry- pajamas (Commissioned)  

Striped blue and slightly crass

As I sit and ponder how I managed to fit this over my slightly large ass

It’s curves of fabric pulled taupe, as I am tall – but sadly not short 

It’s size is a number, a label  just for me 

A number to measure my endles misery 

Finding the right pajamas for when i rest 

Seems to be like an endless test 

I rest my head  upon the pillow on my bed 

My hope for comfort, all But fills me with dread

I close my eyes and wonder, if my size is really just a number 

And if it is.

Than is the uncomfort of my body shape- cut out for the fabric of society ?

– (c) Danielle parrish 2016

Leave a Reply

